Cannes Film Festival 2024, Anora by Sean Baker wins the Palme d’Or

Anora wins the Palme d'Or at the 77th edition of the Cannes Film Festival. The jury chaired by Greta Gerwig rewarded the work of American director Sean Baker, a comedy which tells the story of a striptease dancer and her complicated love story. In addition to the director of barbie, Lady Bird And Little woman, among the jurors are Pierfrancesco Favino, the French actor and producer Omar Sy, the French actress Eva Green, the American actress Lily Gladstone, the Turkish screenwriter and photographer Ebru Ceylan, the Lebanese director and screenwriter Nadine Labaki and the director and Spanish screenwriter Juan Antonio Bayona, Japanese director Kore-eda Hirokazu. Four, of equal merit, were rewarded as best actress in this selection: Adriana Paz, Zoe Saldana, Karla Sofia Gascon and Selena Gomez, all for the film. Emilie Pérez by Jacques Audiard. “To the actors who every day we knock on doors that don’t open and to the trans people who suffer because they denigrate us. And as the film says, there is always a way to change for the better”, dedicates Karla Sofia Gascon. The French director's film also won the Jury Prize. The Grand Prize went to Everything we imagine as light by Payal Kapadia. The Best Actor award went to Jesse Plemons, who worked on Kinds of kindness by Yorgos Lanthimos but was not present at the awards ceremony. In the feature film, he plays three different characters for the three stories of the episodic film. The jury chaired by Greta Gerwig then awarded the prize for best screenplay to The substance by Coralie Fargeat. Miguel Gomes had for Great tour the award for best director. George Lucas received the honorary Palme d'Or when Francis Ford Coppola unexpectedly came on stage and the two embraced.

Other prices

Armand by Halfdan Ullmann Tondel won the Caméra d'or, awarded to the best work before selection, by the jury chaired by Emmanuelle Béart and Baloji. The Palme d'Or for best short film went to the film The man who couldn't stay silent by Nebojsa Slijepcevic, as established by the jury chaired by Lubna Azabal. Surprisingly, Greta Gerwig's jury also awarded an eighth Special Prize – usually seven – to the film The seed of the sacred fig by Mohammad Rasoulof.

Read also:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *